Coverage of religions and beliefs

Coverage of religions and beliefs


At each Stage there are minimum requirements for which religions are to be studied.

In addition to the focus religions indicated below, schools are free to include additional studies of religions and beliefs, as well as groups within traditions, as they judge to be appropriate and according to local or specific curriculum interests. Particularly in relation to community cohesion all schools are encouraged to ensure that their RE curriculum reflects the principal faiths and beliefs in the locality. For example, schools may wish to take account of particular faiths when there are adherents in the classroom, e.g., by acknowledging festivals when they occur and making these times ‘special days’ for children who celebrate them.

Teachers should ensure that, over each Key Stage as a whole, their schemes of work reflect the fact that the religious traditions and cultural heritage in Great Britain are in the main Christian, while taking account of the teachings and practices of the principal religions indicated below. Throughout the programme of study schools will also include consideration of non-religious points of view.

The coverage of religions at KS3 & 4 are recommendations.

Foundation and  Key Stage 1


Christianity plus ONE other religion, from: Hinduism, Islam or Judaism.
Key Stage 2


Christianity plus THREE other religions: Hinduism, Islam and Judaism.
Key Stage 3 Christianity and Buddhism plus TWO other religions, from:  Hinduism, Islam, Judaism or Sikhism.
Key Stage 4 Christianity plus at least ONE other religion, from: Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism or Sikhism